VIRTUAL EVENT | 29 Nov 2020 | Celebrating Louisa May Alcott

Celebrating Louisa May Alcott

Sunday, November 29, 2020

4:00 p.m. Eastern
3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific, 9:00 pm GMT

Via Zoom at https://tinyurl.com/CelebratingLMA

Sponsored by the Louisa May Alcott Society

The event will feature talks from two distinguished Alcott scholars:

  • Daniel Shealy, “‘Not wise to keep for curious eyes to read’: The Value of Documentary and Textual Editing in Alcott Studies”
  • Kristina West, “‘I ain’t going to dress up for nothing’: Performativity, Cross-Dressing, and Queerness in Louisa May Alcott’s Works for Children”

There will also be some lively discussion and some social connecting and reconnecting.

As I mentioned last month, because we can’t provide refreshments at the event, we would like to invite each of you to bring along your own preferred food and drink: leftovers, cookies, cocoa, a glass of wine, Alcott’s own Apple Slump, Emily Dickinson’s coconut cake, or whatever you would enjoy, while learning some new things about Alcott and visiting with your fellow Alcott enthusiasts.

We hope you can join us then!

Greg

P.S. Please share this invitation and the attached flyer with anyone who might want to join us there!


——-
Gregory Eiselein 
Professor of English and University Distinguished Teaching Scholar 
Director of K-State First | www.k-state.edu/first/ | (785) 532-1501 |
President, Louisa May Alcott Society | www.louisamayalcottsociety.org |

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.